Thursday, July 2, 2015

I'LL MEET YOU THERE: HEATHER DEMETRIOS


This is the first 5 star read I've enjoyed in a long time. I pretty much loved everything about this. I've never read a book before that so artfully captures what it is like to grow up in a poor small town. The heroine's experiences are so far from mine, but I felt like I could relate to her so well. There is some male POV as well and the snippets from the mind and heart of our hero were heartfelt and raw and just the perfect amount of his voice to make the book more meaningful and more well rounded.

I devoured this book. I couldn't read it fast enough. It has been ages since I felt like that about a book. 

BOOK BLURB:
If seventeen-year-old Skylar Evans were a typical Creek View girl, her future would involve a double-wide trailer, a baby on her hip, and the graveyard shift at Taco Bell. But after graduation, the only thing standing between straightedge Skylar and art school are three minimum-wage months of summer. Skylar can taste the freedom—that is, until her mother loses her job and everything starts coming apart. Torn between her dreams and the people she loves, Skylar realizes everything she’s ever worked for is on the line.

Nineteen-year-old Josh Mitchell had a different ticket out of Creek View: the Marines. But after his leg is blown off in Afghanistan, he returns home, a shell of the cocksure boy he used to be. What brings Skylar and Josh together is working at the Paradise—a quirky motel off California’s dusty Highway 99. Despite their differences, their shared isolation turns into an unexpected friendship and soon, something deeper.


This has some steamy scenes and character driven foul language. 

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

WHATEVER LIFE THROWS AT YOU: JULIE CROSS



So I don't remember when a book has surprised me as much as this book did. I was expecting some shallow hot guy meets hot girl then proceed to be sexy all over the place while they enjoy their dysfunctional relationship kind of book. Whatever Life Throws At You was not that kind of book, well it was certainly sexy at times but it was a really big hearted read. Features amazing secondary characters full of flaws and lovableness with two main characters that you really cheer for. Plus if you can make a book with a ton of baseball stuff be interesting to me then you are a winner of a writer.

Second half didn't blow me away as much as the first, but it is a strong read overall and terribly swoon worthy.

BOOK BLURB:
Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major leagues as the new pitching coach for the Kansas City Royals. Now she's living in Missouri (too cold), attending an all-girls school (no boys), and navigating the strange world of professional sports. But Annie has dreams of her own—most of which involve placing first at every track meet…and one starring the Royals' super-hot rookie pitcher.

But nineteen-year-old Jason Brody is completely, utterly, and totally off-limits. Besides, her dad would kill them both several times over. Not to mention Brody has something of a past, and his fan club is filled with C-cupped models, not smart-mouthed high school “brats” who can run the pants off every player on the team. Annie has enough on her plate without taking their friendship to the next level. The last thing she should be doing is falling in love.

But baseball isn't just a game. It's life. And sometimes, it can break your heart…


This isn't as racy as a basic New Adult book, but it does contain steamy scenes. Also a good bit of swearing, but not nearly as much swearing as you could get away with in a baseball book. 

Monday, March 2, 2015

ROAD RASH: MARK HUNTLEY PARSONS


How does a book that so perfectly describes life on the road as a drummer in a band while at the same time stays innocent, sweet, and earnest? Seems like an impossible balance to maintain, but this book delivers just that. I just thought this was a delightful little book, especially if like me you enjoy a male POV and rock band boys. If you ever wanted to fall in love with the cute drummer in "that" band, here is your chance.

BOOK BLURB:
After being dropped from one band, sixteen-year-old drummer Zach gets a chance to go on tour with a much better band. It feels like sweet redemption, but this is one rocky road trip—filled with jealousy, rivalries, and on-stage meltdowns.

Mark Parsons has written a fast-paced, feel-good novel about a boy finding his place in the world, in a band, and in the music. Zach is a character teens will stand up and cheer for as he lands the perfect gig, and the perfect girl.


Read more about it HERE.

Friday, February 27, 2015

MY SO-CALLED (LOVE) LIFE: A. L. MICAEL


After falling insanely in love with Michael's The Last Word, I was super excited only days later to find that yet another book had been released. I was going to be on vacation and I couldn't wait to take this baby with me.

I did love it, although it is so similar in story line and also characters as The Last Word that I wished there had been something more to set them apart so they don't glob together in my mind. We had the boy and girl fake relationship that leads to more, and then we had two best girlfriends where one of them is gay...again. I mean seriously it was too much like the first book I loved. Yet, here is the thing. I said I loved the first book so that means I loved this too.

I just hope that the next book of this author's has some characters that I couldn't mistake for being the same ones in this book. Either way, I'll be excited to read whatever comes next!

BOOK BLURB:
Meet Tigerlily James: romance cynic, North Londoner and die-hard margarita fan.

Tigerlily James has been a member of the Young and Bitter Club ever since she was dumped on Valentine’s day. By her fiancĂ©.

Surviving on a diet of cynicism and margarita-fuelled ‘Misery Dinners’ with her best friends, she’s become a romance free zone…and that’s the way she likes it. Until an invitation for The Ex’s wedding arrives. Suddenly in need of a plus one, Tig has little choice but to bin the takeaways, ditch the greying underwear collection…and start pretending to view the opposite sex as something other than target practise.

Then, she meets Ollie – ie. the perfect solution. No sex. No strings. Fake boyfriend. The only catch is that she has to pretend to be his girlfriend for three whole months.

Dating without the heartbreak: the best idea Tig’s ever had, right? Wrong!


Right now this particular book is cheaper on Amazon then her other books. Go ahead and get it for some fun HERE!

Friday, February 20, 2015

RIOT: JAMIE SHAW


I am easily recommending this read, but not to everyone. You might enjoy this if you love those sexy NA books, especially when they are done well. The characters in this book reminded me a lot of Travis and Abby in Beautiful Disaster. I love a good passionate drama story when it is done well and this one really was. I don't know what it was about it, I just really enjoyed it.

This is a second book in a series, this I did not know when I started but it easily stands alone. If this series interests you, you might want to start with book number one, although I haven't read it and I don't think reading them out of order spoils anything really.

BOOK BLURB:
When Dee Dawson meets sexy mohawked guitarist Joel Gibbon, she knows it won’t be long before she has him wrapped around her finger. No guy has ever been able to resist her… but Dee’s met her match in a player like Joel.

Dee’s not the relationship type—not after seeing the pain “love” has caused her friends and family—yet she’s desperate to make Joel want her more than anyone else. He quickly becomes an obsession, and when a reckless attempt to make him jealous ends in disaster, Dee turns into the damsel in distress she never wanted to be. With her carefree world crashing down around her, the last thing she needs is Joel’s pity.

But Joel is suddenly determined to prove he cares, and no matter how hard Dee tries to push him away, he refuses to let her shut him out. Now the girl who swore she’d never say those three little words must choose between guarding her heart and losing Joel forever… or falling head-over-heels for the tattooed rock star of her dreams.


You can read more about it HERE.

Monday, February 9, 2015

THE LAST WORD: A. L. MICHAEL


Utterly and completely charming. I adored this from the beginning and I just loved every second of reading this. I always love me some British Chick-Lit and this one delivered. My biggest disappointment? That I cannot seem to be able to buy a physical copy of the book. It seems to only be available as an eBook! How am I supposed to add it to my ever growing British Chick-Lit collection?

BOOK BLURB:
Tabby Riley’s online life was a roaring success. Her blog had hundreds of followers, and legions of young fans ardently awaited her every Tweet. Her real life was a bit more of a disappointment. Living in a shared flat in North London, scratching a living writing magazine articles on ‘How To Please Your Man in Bed’ wasn’t where she thought she’d be at twenty-six – especially when there was a serious lack of action in her own bedroom.

Although that might all be about to change when she’s offered a position at online newspaper The Type as a real journalist – and gains a sexy new editor, Harry Shulman, to work with. Harry’s confident, smooth talking, and completely aware that he drives Tabby mad. Which is fine, because Tabby’s dated an editor before, and it’s never happening again. Ever. But as her reputation at the paper grows, Tabby has to wonder: is it time to get out from behind the screen and live her life in the real world?


Perfect for fans of 

Monday, January 19, 2015

ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES: JENNIFER NIVEN


Sometimes a book will completely win me over with the very last line. A line so beautiful that it kind of knocks me off balance. This was one of those books. It wasn't just pretty at the end though, this book is freaking FULL of beautiful lines. In fact sometimes I was thinking: "Come on! People (and teenage boys especially) don't talk like this!" But then isn't the fun of reading a book sometimes to read dialogue and words that are prettier and more meaningful then in real life?

This book has both female and male perspectives and the voices are distinct and complementary. Niven so fully and perfectly delves into the heart and mind of a mentally unstable, wonderful teenage boy that I dare you not to fall in love with him. While our heroine is so strong, broken, wonderful, and real that I dare you not to cheer for her happiness. 

BOOK BLURB:
The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.
Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.
 
 

You can read more about it HERE.